A person charged with domestic assault in Tennessee needs to understand the consequences of domestic assault and how to deal with them. Domestic assault is a serious crime that can have significant consequences for those who are accused of committing it. In this article, we will explain what domestic assault is in Tennessee, the penalties for offenders, and the collateral consequences of a domestic assault conviction.
What is Domestic Assault in Tennessee?
In Tennessee, domestic assault is defined as an assault that occurs between family or household members. Family or household members include spouses, former spouses, parents, children, stepchildren, foster parents, and other individuals who live or have lived together in the same household. Domestic assault can include physical, emotional, or sexual abuse.
Penalties for Domestic Assault in Tennessee
If you are convicted of domestic assault in Tennessee, you may face a range of penalties. Domestic assault is a class A misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to 11 months and 29 days in jail and fines of up to $2,500. In addition to jail time and fines, you may also be required to attend counseling such as anger management or batterer's intervention courses or complete community service.
Some domestic assaults can lead to Felony charges, even after person has been charged with a misdemeanor. It's important to hire a criminal defense attorney in your area who knows the difference and can help guide you through it.